I believe I can help you out. I would try two things. First, make sure you are refreshing the Portal page after you have Published the changes. The easiest way to refresh the page is to log off and login again in your Portal.
Second, There is a posting in the forums that discusses the topic. You can find ...
I would try a Full Synchronize. If you are already in Method, you can go to QuickBooks > Synchronize, and click on the Sync Now button right beside the label of Full Synchronization.
Also, you may want to see if the Customer has synced over, but is hidden. Go to Customize > ...