Method Community

Trying to generate links

Last post 06-01-2012 1:13 PM by Anonymous. 18 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-24-2012 10:21 AM

• Jacob
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-24-2012
    • Posts 14

Trying to generate links

Hello there folks,

Ok, I'm new to Method CRM. I am a developer writing a plugin to an existing product. My purpose is to gather information and present it to the user. This was the easy part and it's all good there.

I also would like a couple of links to the method UI from our application that allow the user to:

1) Create a new Contact

2) Create a new Account (Vendor account)

3) Open a customer in Edit Mode  (given information available via the API like record id, etc)

I have looked at MethodAPIGetScreenURL version 2,3, and 4. I am sure these would work if I could get the correct parameters and figure out which is the best to use. The documentation is spotty and there aren't any decent examples that I could find.

I would greatly appreciate any help with this,

Thanks,

Jacob

• 05-24-2012 1:31 PM In reply to

Re: Trying to generate links

Hi Jacob,

There are 2 ways to do what you are asking. You can use the create short method url action from within method itself. (You can read up on it at http://www.methodintegration.com/method/kb.aspx?folder=methodcrm&article=Create-Short-Method-URL&id=165)

The second way is using the API, I will provide examples below. My examples are in C# and assume you have already added the appropriate service references in your code. I also replaced companyaccount, login, and password with XXX, YYY, and ZZZ respectively. You should be able to tweak them to meet your needs

Using MethodAPIGetScreenURLV2

Let's assume you have a tab called customers, with a tablink called New Customers.

string ResponseFromAPI = MethodAPI.MethodAPIGetScreenURLV2(XXX, YYY, ZZZ, "", "New Customer", "Customers", "");