Method Community

Disable certain roles from seeing customer or vendor balances?

Last post 11-25-2013 8:26 AM by Method_Jonathan. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-20-2013 3:27 PM

• Josh
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-15-2013
    • Posts 6

Disable certain roles from seeing customer or vendor balances?

I'm just getting started so forgive me if this is a no-brainer.

On the gmail gadget,, We will have a few staff members that need to see customer balances, but not vendor balances. And vice versa. 

Is there a way to assign what they can and can't view to roles?

• 11-22-2013 9:12 AM In reply to

Re: Disable certain roles from seeing customer or vendor balances?

Hi Josh,

The Google gadget has a settings link, which allows you to tie gadget functionality back to Tab Links within Method.  If users have access to the particular Tab Link specified while logged into Method, then they will have access to that functionality in the gadget.  

For example, when loading customer information, the gadget checks to see what tab link has been specified for the 'Edit Customer' item on the settings page.  If the user can view the Tab Link while logged into Method, then the relevant customer information (including customer balance) is displayed, otherwise the information displayed will be limited (and the balance is hidden).  

A similar process flow would occur for the Vendor information.  If the user has access to the Tab Link specified for the 'Vendor' item on the settings page, then they will be able to see Vendor information (including the balance).

You can read more about how the gadget works in this Help Center Article.