Method Community

Update table / Web Service Timeout

Last post 09-24-2010 4:00 PM by Anonymous. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 09-20-2010 10:00 AM

Update table / Web Service Timeout

Hello,

I am a developer for an application in Method that we currently have in beta testing. To be a little more specific, this application lives inside of Method as a new screen, not a desktop application.

Currently we have 2 issues that I may need some help from the experts on.

1) The "Web Service Call" occasionally times out and causes an "Action Sequence:XX" error. Is there a way to either retry this or perhaps mask it to make it more friendly? I understand what this means, but I feel our clients are going to be discouraged. Strangely enough, this only ever happens on the first Web Service Call-- and only on occasion.

2)This one is a little hard to explain because I don't even know where to begin.
       Our application when first opened shows a login screen that connects to our web service. On this login screen there is a checkbox "Remember my login". Once the login button is clicked it verifies the password using the Web Service Call metioned above. Then if the checkbox is checked it calls an "Update Table" action to write the username/password to the application's config table the username/password. If it is not checked, then we call an "Update Table" action to write blank values for the username/password (Sort of like a "Forget my password").