Method Community

Formulas in Estimates

Last post 01-12-2011 9:03 AM by Anonymous. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-28-2010 5:58 PM

Formulas in Estimates

Hello,

I am new to this and maybe a bit ahead of myself in asking this question as I have not reviewed all of the videos but cannot find a thread regarding this. I am trying to attach estimated hours to each item and have a formula that automatically totals estimated hours for all items to give me a total estimate of hours across all items.

• 12-29-2010 12:14 PM In reply to

Re: Formulas in Estimates

Answer

Hi Phat Matt,

When you say "estimated hours" what screen are you referring to? Is this a customized screen that contains something like "Estimated Hours" custom field? If so, you can utilize the "Get Sum" action to sum up the total estimated hours, and then ensure to enable "Subtotals: calculate Subtotals for this column" under "advanced properties" in the Grid Wizard, given that this is a custom field you've added to the estimate screen.

Regards,
    Denis

• 01-03-2011 11:39 PM In reply to

Hey Denis,

I am trying to get the esthrs in the items table to generate on an estimate. I can get the field to show up in the grid but it is not carrying the information to the estimate.  Also, once I can get it to show up, I would like to add two additional fields. The first would be on the item table and be a custom one called "difficulty". The second would be on the estimate screen called "TotalHours" which does a basic math operation to multiply "esthrs" by "difficulty".  Also, could you reset my account for theagentsee? I have messed it up quite a bit in my learning process and am getting stuck on a few tables when I try to edit. It wont let me save and I cant delete the fields that are causing the problem as it says theyre tied to a table when they are not.

Thanks!

Matt

• 01-04-2011 1:54 PM In reply to

Hi Matt,