Method Community

Multiplying Data from several custom fields

Last post 10-13-2011 9:09 PM by Nathan W. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-13-2011 2:50 PM

Multiplying Data from several custom fields

Hello,

I'm new to Method and I am currently working on customizing our estimate templates.  

Background for Question: We use several custom fields on our estimates internally to figure out our Project Labor, Project Management, Equipment and most importantly our Overhead, Sales Commission and PROFIT! so we can add a final line item to our estimate called Labor, Equipment & Supervision that covers all of these costs.

Question: If I have the following custom fields and desired calculation...how do I make this happen in Method?

(Project Production Days) = [ 3 ]

(Project Crew Size) = [ 4 ]

(Project Crew Daily Drivetime Hours) = [ 1.5 ]

(Project Total Production Hours) = ( Project_Production_Days x 8 x  Project_Crew_Size ) + ( Project_Production_Days x Project_Crew_Size x Project_Crew_Drivetime )

(Project Total Labor Cost) = ( Project_Production_Days  x  8  x  Project_Crew_Size  x  25) + ( Project_Production_Days  x  Project_Crew_Size  x  Project_Crew_Drivetime  x  25 )

----------

(  ) = custom field

[  ] = field data entered by estimator

----------

Let me know if you need more information.  Also please include how these custom fields should be set up initially (integers, currency, etc.)

Please advise.  Thank you!

• 10-13-2011 4:55 PM In reply to

Re: Multiplying Data from several custom fields

Hi Nathan-

If you are looking to get this calculation on your custom estimate screen you would need to use Basic Math Calculation actions. You can have these action triggered by a button or on the lose focus event on one of the fields. I would suggested watching the Advanced Actions: Shared Results and Basic Math webinar found HERE.