I did get more word on this post and copying screens. There are three modes, design, override and publish. The override mode is still in development and hasn't been fully flushed out yet. For the beta, you will have to manually copy the screens from the Manage Apps section. There are plans to make copying of default screens easier and provide a message warning you that you are in override mode. Here is a snippet of the customization documentation as of Nov 20th. The customization notes do new features and fixes . I have been told customers who have yet to get the customization documentation will receive a copy soon.
basically this means you
can’t change the core functionalit
y of the screen, but you can change how it looks
aesthetically and add additional functionality in addit
ion to what is currently there.
: This screen is published and can no longer be customized unless you create
a new version of the screen (see
for more details).