Method Community

How to Create an Item from API?

Last post 01-20-2023 4:37 PM by Method_Paul. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-19-2023 1:47 PM

How to Create an Item from API?

I have been using the Method API for a couple years now and even when things are not clearly documented I have been able to figure them out from the examples in the API docs. However I have not been able to successfully create an Item through the API. 

For example, I tried posting this item with this API call: 

curl --location --request POST 'https://rest.method.me/api/v1/tables/item' \

--header 'Authorization: APIKey ***' \
    --header 'Content-Type: application/json' \
    --data-raw '{
    "ItemType": "Inventory",
    "FullName": "dB Technologies USA Inc",
    "IsActive": true,
    "Name": "dB Technologies USA Inc",
    "PurchaseCost":"0",
    "SalesDesc": "",
    "QuantityOnHand": "1",
    "IncomeAccount": "Integration:Sales",
    "COGSAccount": "Cost of Goods Sold",
    "AssetAccount": "Inventory Asset-1",
    "PrefVendor_RecordID": 4377
    }
    '

It sucessfully creates a new record, but there is no Name or Description. The other fields do show up. 

What do I need to change to be able to create a new Item so the name and description shows up? 

Does someone have an example API post? 

• 01-19-2023 2:12 PM In reply to

Re: How to Create an Item from API?

Jamie - I'll try a quick answer before the support and/or product teams chime in. On first glance, I would try a few things:

a) Don't include FullName. FullName is really a calculated field. It figures out FullName based on the Name as as well as the reference to a Parent, if there is one.  I wonder if including FullName is throwing it off somehow, and somehow causing the Name to be blank.

b) I would try not including PrefVendor_RecordID, QuantityOnHand for now to see if that makes a difference. Those are bonus fields...introduce them one at a time to something that is working.